Lander University Committee Assignments

Tuesday, August 13, 2024

Curriculum Committee (2024-2025)

Appointed By: Faculty Senate

Reports To Faculty Senate

Membership

The Curriculum Committee will consist of the provost and executive vice president for academic affairs (or designee), the president of the Student Government Association (or designee), and a representative from the Graduate Programs Committee as non-voting members and at least four other senators who will be voting members. No college may have more than one senator on the committee, and at least two of the senators appointed to the committee must be tenured. The provost and vice president for academic affairs, the president of the Student Government Association, and the representative from the Graduate Programs Committee may not serve as the committee chair. The chair will be elected from the eligible committee members at the first committee meeting of the academic year. The chair of the committee must be either a tenured faculty member or a librarian. The registrar will serve as consultant to the committee.

Functions

The function of the Curriculum Committee will be to recommend action on undergraduate and graduate proposals (activations, deactivations and modifications), changes in the present undergraduate and graduate curricula, and changes in the undergraduate and graduate academic contents of the undergraduate and graduate catalogs. All votes will be reflected in the minutes of each meeting. Any recommendations affecting general education must be recorded in the minutes.

Procedure

The Committee will meet as often as is deemed necessary by the Chair, but at least once per semester. A copy of the materials to be reviewed by the Committee will be sent to all members and consultants of the Committee.

All recommendations and votes will be reflected in the minutes. The minutes of the Curriculum Committee's meetings will be attached to the agenda for the next Faculty Senate meeting.

When the minutes of that particular Faculty Senate meeting are approved, nonpolicy actions take effect. Motions to change policy evolving from the Curriculum Committee will be sent to the Faculty Senate separately with the recommended approval or disapproval from the Committee and must be approved through normal Faculty Senate Procedures.

Approved by General Education Committee 3/19/2015 Approved by Curriculum Committee 4/16/2015 Approved by Faculty Senate 4/20/2015

Member	Title / Role	Term of Service
Jason Lee (Chair)	Professor of Biology / COSM	Spring 2026
Susan Going	Assistant to the VPAA / VPAA Designee	Non-voting
Kelli Horne	Assistant Professor of Accounting / COB	Spring 2025
Robert Kelley	Professor of Music / COAH	Spring 2026
Lloyd Willis	Dean - College of Graduate & Online Studies	Non-voting
Kevin Witherspoon	Professor of History / COBSS	Spring 2026
Amelia Beasley	SGA President / Student Government Association	Non-voting