## Lander University Committee Assignments

Monday, August 19, 2024

## Faculty Senate (2024-2025)

Appointed By: Election

Reports To NA (free-standing body)

## ORGANIZATION

1. The Faculty Senate shall be composed of senators representing the voting faculty of Lander University as defined in the bylaws of the Board of Trustees of Lander University, Chapter I, II.1. The president of the Student Government Association and the provost and vice president for academic affairs shall be *ex-officio* nonvoting members of the Faculty Senate.

2. The voting faculty of each academic unit (defined as a department, the library, or a college or school with no separate departments) shall elect one senator. The voting faculty of the university shall elect nine additional at-large senators serving staggered terms. Department chairs, assistant deans, deans of academic units, and the director of library services are not eligible to serve as senators representing their unit but may hold at-large positions if they are otherwise qualified.

3. A chair, chair-elect, and secretary shall be elected from among and by the senators to serve for a term of one year. [SOURCE: Faculty Handbook (Rev. 5/2020) Article II]

## PURPOSE

The purpose of the Faculty Senate shall be to provide part of the means by which the faculty shall carry out the responsibilities set forth in the bylaws of the Lander University Board of Trustees, Chapter I, III.3.2(b) and Chapter I, III.3.2(c). In the event of real or apparent conflict between this constitution and the bylaws of the Board of Trustees, the bylaws of the Board of Trustees shall take precedence.

[SOURCE: Faculty Handbook (Rev. 5/2020) Article 1, Section 2]

Member	Title / Role	<b>Term of Service</b>
Kerry Hansknecht (Chair)	Professor of Biology / At-Large COSM	Spring 2025
Jeff Barfield (Chair-Elect)	Associate Professor of Physical Education & Exercise Science / PEES COE	Spring 2026
Jim Colbert	Provost & VPAA / Non-voting	Ex Officio
Lauren Corbitt	Senior Lecturer of Spanish / At Large COAH	Spring 2026
Brittany Cuenin	Senior Lecturer of English / English and Foreign Language COAH	Spring 2027
Elyse Donaubauer	Teaching Assistant Professor of Biology and Environmental Science / Biology COSM / Secretary	Spring 2025
Haley Floyd	Lecturer of Art / Art + Design COAH	Spring 2027
David Gardner	Professor of Chemistry / Physical Sciences COSM	Spring 2027
Tess Gemberling	Associate Professor of Psychology / Psychology COBSS	Spring 2025
Kelli Horne	Assistant Professor of Accounting / Business COB	Spring 2025
Walter Iriarte	Assistant Professor of Media & Communication / Mass Comm & Theater COAH	Spring 2026
Andrew Jameson	Associate Professor of English / At-Large COAH	Spring 2027
Robert Kelley	Professor of Music / Music COAH	Spring 2026
Tod Kenney	Associate Professor of Education / At-Large COE	Spring 2027
Crystal King	Assistant Professor of Nursing / Nursing SON	Spring 2026
Sarah King	Assistant Professor of Criminology / Govt, Crim & Soc COBSS	Spring 2025
Trevor Leach	Assistant Professor of Mathematics / Mathematics & Computing COSM	Spring 2026
Jason Lee	Professor of Biology / At-Large COSM	Spring 2026
Dusty McGee-Anderson	Senior Lecturer of English / At-Large COAH	Spring 2025
Carlos Mentley	Professor of Spanish / Parliamentarian	

Cherie Rains	Associate Professor of Marketing / At-Large COB	Spring 2027
Rachel Schiera	Assistant Professor of Education / Teacher Education COE	Spring 2025
Dave Slimmer	Professor of Physics / At-Large COSM	Spring 2026
Kevin Witherspoon	Professor of History / History & Philosophy COBSS	Spring 2026
Chase Worley	Assistant Professor of Mathematics / At-Large COSM	Spring 2025
Amelia Beasley	SGA President / non-voting	Ex Officio